Annual Service Dog Award

The United Doberman Club Annual Service Dog Award recognizes an outstanding Doberman and handler team whose work promotes the use of the Doberman in a variety of working and service needs.
This award was initiated in 1999 by the UDC SAR dog group, and initially was for SAR dogs only. Eventually, the award was opened up to all service dogs. The award process will be advertised in the Winter edition of FOCUS. It also will be announced on the official UDC communication tool Zooza.

The UDC Board will appoint a committee to accept and verify nominations. Nominations that are not successful in one year may be considered in subsequent years, with the approval of the nominee. A list of nominations, along with corresponding backup materials for each candidate, will be provided to the Board for a decision at a meeting prior to the UDC national. A certificate signed by the UDC president will be presented at the national or mailed to recipient if the recipient cannot attend.

Each year the award recipient’s name (dog and owner) will be engraved on the Always Faithful bronze statue donated by Linda Kurz and sculptress Susan Bahary in memory of D-CH Branwen vom Haus Kurz OA OAC OJC OGC NAJ AD BH UD TR1 WAC VCX. The bronze will remain in the care of Irene Korotev. A War Dog Memorial poster will be sent by sculptress Susan Bahary to each year’s recipient. The Award Committee chair will advise both Susan Bahary and Irene Korotev of the awardee each year. In addition, the Award chair will provide the nomination materials to the FOCUS editor so that an article about the recipient will appear in FOCUS.

Nominations for the award are open to any UDC registered dog.  To nominate a dog, please submit this form to the Service Dog Committee Chair.

Service Dog Nomination Form